Tags

, ,

Behold, I send you forth as sheep in the midst of wolves: be ye therefore wise as serpents, and harmless as doves.  Matthew 10:16

I used to be a little confused by that scripture. I guess that comparison to a serpent threw me off, but as always, Jesus had a clear intent when He spoke those words.

One of the cases in which we must be wise is in the case of “fruit.” I know a lot of people who equate Biblical fruit with niceness. I know a lot of people who equate Biblical fruit with signs, wonders, healing, and miracles.

If you believe someone has the stamp of approval from God because they “get words” or “signs” happen when they come to your church to preach, please read Matthew 7:13-29. The teaching about “knowing them by their fruit” is in tandem with the warning about false prophets doing works in Jesus’ name.

The post Don’t Be Naive About Miracles   from You Are All Brothers does a good job of listing the scriptures that show us signs, healing and miracles are no proof of God’s approval.

 

