Tags

, , , , ,

I will post the specifics of my personal journey in the My Journey category.

I’ve wrestled with writing about the specifics of my personal journey out of the prophetic movement and charismatic church. I have concerns about painting all charismatic churches with a broad brush, and I don’t want to do that. That’s part of the reason why I use the term “charismaniac” to imply a specific condition within the charismatic church where excesses prevail; teaching is a mishmash of truth, personal interpretation, and imaginations; and application of scripture is a strange mix of pagan superstition and New Age philosophy with just enough truth to confuse.

I guess the easiest way to deal with it is to trust that if you’ve been there, you know it. I can’t possibly write about my experiences and include caveats to cover every other possibility of what someone else may experience.

If you are currently in a charismania-type church, and you have doubts that what you see and hear are truly Biblical, you may find my story helpful, but please determine to study scripture and use it alone as your plumb line.

Personal stories are a powerful thing, but keep in mind they are personal, seen through the perspective of one person, and you are free to take it or leave it. InĀ  my case, when I started wondering if what I was being taught, especially about what the Kingdom of God ‘looks like’ and how it ‘operates’ on the earth, I felt very alone. I thought maybe I was the only one questioning. Other people’s stories were very helpful as I saw common threads over and over again.

